Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu PRIMECHECK OSINT—Open Source Intelligence | What is that?

OSINT—Open Source Intelligence

Sep 28,2021

What is OSINT and how do we use it for you?

Information determines our everyday life. Newspapers, television and, last but not least, the Internet provide us with a wealth of different information every day. Not all are relevant. And often we are simply overwhelmed by the amount of content.

Nonetheless, this publicly available information gives us a valuable tool. This tool is so valuable that even secret services like the American CIA use it. We are talking about OSINT - the Open Source Intelligence.

What is OSINT?

The term stands for news gathering from publicly accessible sources. However, this alone is not enough to obtain real insights into a fact or a person. The aim of OSINT is the right combination of the information obtained in order to analyze it and generate usable findings as a result.

How does OSINT work?

A fortunate circumstance in using this approach is the fact that all the information used is freely and publicly available. What is on the one hand a great advantage, however, also represents the difficulty of the OSINT. Because the mass of information is almost unmanageable. That is why a structured and well-considered approach to this type of research is essential.

In order to obtain data, all conceivable sources are considered.
An example: A profile is to be created for a target person. It must be clarified with which companies and other persons this target person is connected. Furthermore, it must be clarified whether there are connections to certain organizations or even political parties.

In order to get the right information here, the following sources are conceivable, for example:

– social media (to analyze existing contacts and publications)
– public business directories (to check business relationships)
– Press (to examine news about this person)

In fact, the research would expand to include many more sources. And here it can already be seen that the most important resource in this type of information gathering is time. Links are often found in the course of an analysis, which then lead to further research. And if a clear target and a defined structure are missing at this point, there is a great danger of losing sight of the actual question.

Who uses OSINT?

OSINT is not a new technology or even a secret science. The intelligence services and law enforcement agencies of this world - above all the US CIA - have been using OSINT for a long time. Even the German Federal Intelligence Service and the British Scotland Yard have set up their own departments that deal exclusively with data collection from public sources.

OSINT at PRIMECHECK

Our detective agency also uses OSINT. Because we have recognized that we can build up a comprehensive and reliable database from the information that the Internet offers us. The special feature of our detective agency: We don't just rely on that. Primecheck's information experts support our detectives on site with an OSINT profile. This is supplemented by our own investigations and research. This is how we ensure that we can always present you with the overall picture of a case.

Can I use OSINT myself?

Yes you can. All information used in this process is publicly available. However, please keep in mind: It takes a lot of time to gather the right information. This is especially true if you are not familiar with this type of research.

Our information experts have the necessary experience in this area. You can quickly see whether a data source is providing the information you want. They know the cross-connections between the countless sources and have developed their own structures and techniques over time in order to optimize the effort involved in searching for information.

We will help you professionally and quickly

Primecheck also relies on OSINT. We support our detectives with the data obtained in this way and can also quickly provide you with initial results and insights.

Do you have questions on this topic? Give us a call. We are happy to help.

OSINT

en_USEnglish

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu PRIMECHECK OSINT - Open Source Intelligence | Detektei PRIMECHECK

Jetzt kostenfrei anrufen: (24 Stunden / 7 Tage): 0800 – 72 43 252

Was ist OSINT und wie nutzen wir es für Sie?

Informationen bestimmen unseren Alltag. Zeitungen, das Fernsehen und nicht zuletzt das Internet liefern uns tagtäglich eine Fülle von unterschiedlichen Informationen. Nicht alle sind relevant. Und oftmals sind wir angesichts der Menge an Inhalten schlichtweg überfordert.

Dennoch geben uns diese öffentlich verfügbaren Informationen ein wertvolles Werkzeug an die Hand. Dieses Werkzeug ist so wertvoll, dass selbst Geheimdienste wie die amerikanische CIA darauf zurückgreifen. Die Rede ist von OSINT – der Open Source Intelligence.

Was ist OSINT?

Der Begriff steht für die Nachrichtengewinnung aus öffentlich zugänglichen Quellen. Dies allein reicht jedoch nicht aus, um wirkliche Erkenntnisse über einen Sachverhalt oder eine Person zu erhalten. Das Ziel der OSINT ist die richtige Kombination der gewonnenen Informationen, um diese zu analysieren und im Ergebnis verwertbare Erkenntnisse zu generieren.

Wie funktioniert OSINT?

Ein glücklicher Umstand im Umgang mit dieser Vorgehensweise ist die Tatsache, dass alle genutzten Informationen frei und öffentlich verfügbar sind. Was einerseits ein großer Vorteil ist, stellt jedoch auch die Schwierigkeit der OSINT dar. Denn die Masse an Informationen ist beinahe unüberschaubar. Darum ist strukturiertes und überlegtes Vorgehen bei dieser Art der Recherche unerlässlich.

Um Daten zu gewinnen, werden alle denkbaren Quellen in Betracht gezogen.
Ein Beispiel: Von einer Zielperson soll ein Profil erstellt werden. Es ist zu klären, mit welchen Unternehmen und weiteren Personen diese Zielperson in Verbindung steht. Weiterhin ist zu klären, ob es Verbindungen zu bestimmten Organisationen oder gar politischen Parteien gibt.

Um hier an die passenden Informationen zu gelangen, sind beispielsweise folgende Quellen denkbar:

– soziale Medien (um vorhandene Kontakte und Veröffentlichungen zu analysieren)
– öffentliche Firmenverzeichnisse (um unternehmerische Beziehungen zu prüfen)
– Presse (um Nachrichten zu dieser Person zu untersuchen)

Tatsächlich würde sich die Recherche auf weitaus mehr Quellen ausweiten. Und hier ist schon erkennbar, dass die wichtigste Ressource bei dieser Art der Informationsbeschaffung die Zeit ist. Häufig finden sich im Verlauf einer Analyse Verknüpfungen, die dann zu weiteren Recherchen führen. Und wenn an diesem Punkt eine klare Zielvorgabe und eine definierte Struktur fehlt, ist die Gefahr groß, die eigentliche Fragestellung aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Wer nutzt OSINT?

OSINT ist keine neue Technologie oder gar Geheimwissenschaft. Die Nachrichtendienste und Strafverfolgungsbehörden dieser Welt – allen voran die US-amerikanische CIA – nutzen OSINT seit langer Zeit. Selbst der deutsche Bundesnachrichtendienst und der britische Scotland Yard haben eigene Abteilungen eingerichtet, die sich ausschließlich mit der Datengewinnung aus öffentlichen Quellen befassen.

OSINT bei Primecheck

Auch unsere Detektei bedient sich OSINT. Denn wir haben erkannt: aus den Informationen, die uns das Internet bietet, können wir eine umfassende und belastbare Datenbasis aufbauen. Die Besonderheit unserer Detektei: Wir verlassen uns nicht allein darauf. Die Informationsexperten von Primecheck unterstützen unsere Detektive vor Ort mit einem OSINT-Profil. Dieses wird durch eigene Ermittlungen und Recherchen ergänzt. So stellen wir sicher, dass wir Ihnen stets das Gesamtbild zu einem Fall vorstellen können.

Kann ich OSINT selbst anwenden?

Ja, das können sie. Alle Informationen, die im Rahmen dieses Vorgehens zu Einsatz kommen, sind öffentlich zugänglich. Bedenken Sie jedoch bitte: Es kostet sehr viel Zeit die passenden Informationen zusammenzutragen. Das gilt insbesondere, wenn Sie mit dieser Art der Recherche nicht vertraut sind.

Unsere Informationsexperten haben die notwendige Erfahrung in diesem Bereich. Sie erkennen schnell, ob eine Datenquelle die gewünschten Informationen liefert. Sie kennen die Querverbindungen zwischen den unzähligen Quellen und haben sich im Laufe der Zeit eigene Strukturen und Techniken erarbeitet, um den Aufwand für die Informationssuche zu optimieren.

Wir helfen Ihnen professionell und schnell

Auch Primecheck setzt auf OSINT. Wir unterstützen unsere Detektive mit den so erhaltenen Daten und können auch Ihnen schnell erste Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse liefern.

Haben Sie Fragen zu diesem Thema? Rufen Sie uns an. Wir beraten Sie gerne.

OSINT